Dr. Suresh Das new president of MRSI…

Congratulations Dr. Suresh Das!

Dr. Suresh Das, Director, CSIR-National Institute for Interdisciplinary Science and Technology (CSIR-NIIST) Trivandrum, has been elected as the president of the Materials Research Society of India (MRSI) at recently held 26th annual general meeting at Jaipur, Rajasthan. Dr. Das will be the ninth president of MRSI. He has taken over from Dr. Sundararajan, ARCI, Hyderabad. Some of the previous presidents are Dr. T. Ramasami, Dr. R. A. Mashelkar and Dr. D. Chakravorty. The Materials Research Society of India (MRSI) is an interdisciplinary society founded in 1989 by Prof. CNR Rao, F.R.S., dedicated to the field of materials science and engineering in India. The MRSI functions through twenty local chapters in India. The MRSI is designed to stimulate accelerated growth of indigenous research and development of a wide range of materials and their application. The main objectives of the MRSI are to recognize and promote the general advancement of materials science and engineering in the country and to provide a platform for exchange of information amongst the members of the society.